The four new commissioners taking the oath of office | Photo: RSG
State Executive Council

A 'Minor’ Cabinet Restructure looms as Governor Wike Inaugurates New Commissioners.

TouchPH Desk

March 22, 2018 04:53 pm

The Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike has inaugurated four commissioners who were screened and confirmed by the state’s legislature on Tuesday. During the ceremony, the Governor indicated that he will move some personnel around for a more effective executive council. According to a statement by his Special Assistant on Electronic Media Simeon Nwakaudu, Governor Wike hinted at “there would be a minor cabinet reshuffle.”

The Governor warned the commissioners against using their offices as a means to enrich themselves. He also demanded commitment to the administration’s vision and threatened that anybody found wanting along the path will be fired without notification.

"These appointments are not opportunities for appointees to enrich themselves. If you attempt to enrich yourselves, there will be consequences.
"Anyone who attempts to derail our vision, we will not notify the person before he is shown the way out. We are determined to move the state to the next level."

A perceived disloyalty was one of the reasons Wike cited after he fired his cabinet last June.

“This is when you know those that are loyal and those who are not. There is no crack in government. We are working together. The dissolution was done in consultation with PDP leadership in the state. You have to work with those that are loyal. Those who are not loyal will be shown the way out. Those who are loyal will come back.” obtained from a Guardian Publication in July 2017.

During the inauguration of the new cabinet members, the Rivers State Governor demanded ‘total loyalty’. He said his administration is determined to actualize the state’s vision.

"I demand total loyalty. If you divide your loyalty, you will not be in my cabinet. This administration is determined to actualise her vision for the state." as quoted in the statement.

The Commissioners include: Mrs Nancy Nwankwo, Hon. Chinyere Igwe, Mr Michael West, and Dr Reason Onya.

Governor Wike also swore-in Chief Boma Dappa as the Caretaker Committee Chairman of Degema Local Government Area, and directed him to pay the local council workers’ salary arrears.

Get notifications about news and events in Port Harcourt.
Get notifications about news and events in Port Harcourt.